General Category > The Knowledge

new spokes - old wheels, sizing?

(1/4) > >>

chrisbainbridge:
Further to my classic Gitane restoration, I am looking at restoring the wheels myself.  They seem pretty true and are Mavic rims with no signs of cracking.  The bearings feel dry but not rough.  The rim and hub both clean up and a quick polish of a small area looks good.

However the spokes do not clean up at all and would in the future make the wheels look unkempt.

I have never built a wheel before but these will be low mileage sunny day wheels so I am going to give it a try.  My plan is to probably rebuild in situ taking out a spoke and then replacing a spoke.

I do not think I will be able to get the spokes union as they look pretty set in place.

Can you point me to a resource to size new spokes and what should I be looking at for spokes for a 1975 wheel build?

caerau:
Google Roger Musson's wheelbuilding book (it's a downloadable pdf - free iirc).  All you need to know is in there.  Very detailed and clear guide to how to measure up for required spoke lengths within.

[edit] - OK not free, but reasonable certainly.

JonB: