Author Topic: Weird PC hardware problem is driving me crazy  (Read 1959 times)

Jules

• Has dropped his aitch!
Weird PC hardware problem is driving me crazy
« on: 26 April, 2008, 11:31:36 pm »
I'm not a hardware engineer but, up until now, I've never had a hardware problem that I couldn't solve by swapping some components  out. Today I  am absolutely baffled. Please help!!!

Its a Athlon XP-2000 circa 2002 that I  use as a web and testing server at home. It stopped powering up so I  guessed the PSU had blown so I  went and bought a cheap replacement  (Trust 370 watt). This didn't fix the problem either so I  guessed that either the motherboard or CPU was dead so I've just bought another, this time an Athlon XP board with CPU and memory off Ebay. It was guaranteed working and the vendor is 100% so I have no reason to suppose I've bought a dud. I  swapped back to the original PSU, plumbed it in and fired it up. The processor and case fans did a quarter turn and then stopped. Cycling the power did not make this repeat however pulling the power lead from the PSU and replacing it and then cycling the power allowed the fans to make another quarter turn and then stop.  I guess (I don't know much about Switch mode PSU's) that the board was trying to draw more power than the PSU wanted to give, the PSU was shutting down to protect itself and removing the power lead from the PSU reset this condition.

So I  swapped in the new PSU and... Exactly the same thing happens, quarter turn on the fans and then nothing until the power is removed from the PSU. Back to the "broken" board and guess what, exactly the same behaviour.

I'm now confused and would welcome any ideas. All I  can come up with is...