Author Topic: First Aid Kits  (Read 5857 times)

LindaG

First Aid Kits
« on: 26 May, 2010, 05:09:13 pm »
To avoid hijacking the 'Rural road deaths' thread, I am interested in the contents of forumers' bike-carried first aid kits.

Commercially provided kits seem (IMHO) to have very little of use in them.  Plasters, alcohol wipes, non-adherent dressings (smallish), and that's pretty much it.  In the event of a really serious accident they'd be useless.

Now, I accept I may be somewhat jaded.  I am a surgical nurse and see  more gore on a daily basis than most.  They give me expensive stuff to deal with it.  I laugh in the face of plasters.

What do you carry?  What's your rationale for choice of kit?

Re: First Aid Kits
« Reply #1 on: 26 May, 2010, 05:12:32 pm »
I have a selection of waterproof plasters. They stop my Achilles tendon area getting blistered from my sandals if I have to walk around too much, at Mildenhall for example. They also hold together bits of skin after bollard - pavement/face interface.

« Reply #2 on: 26 May, 2010, 05:13:20 pm »

What do you carry?  What's your rationale for choice of kit?

Ibuprofen gel, co-codamol, Pro-plus. Knee pain, headache, sleepiness all reduced.
The old Legion hand told the recruit, "When things are bad, bleu, try not to make them worse, because it is very likely that they are bad enough already." -- Robert Ruark

Zoidburg

« Reply #3 on: 26 May, 2010, 05:15:56 pm »
I use the boots medium kit which was about £10 - £15 last time I checked.

Good kit with proper range of dressings, scissors, gloves, surgical tape etc etc, to that I add a military first field dressing, detol in little saches as it dilutes and goes a long way, a survival blanket, pain killers, zinc oxide tape maybe some compeed and some nail glue oh and a sharp knife.

Beyond that kit you are getting onto paramedics turf and I ain't a paramedic.

« Reply #4 on: 26 May, 2010, 05:23:13 pm »