Author Topic: BM Luxos problem  (Read 5777 times)

Fidgetbuzz

• L sp MOON. 1st R sp MARS . At X SO sp STARS
BM Luxos problem
« on: December 12, 2014, 12:27:26 pm »
Pretty new Luxos for PAP - all went well with feed to USB -- but now back in UK and although lights and light control on stem thingy  are working - damned if the feed to the USB and the red charging light is.

I suspect a problem in the stem control units wiring - ( but i am no electrical wizard ) - anyone got any useful info - or is it back to seller ( who the heck was that) - saying --bust - please sort or replace
I was an accountant until I discovered Audax !!

Re: BM Luxos problem
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2014, 08:20:38 pm »
For what it's worth, my Luxos went wonkey and I swiftly returned to seller. Replaced same with Exposure equivalent and have been more than happy with same.
I dunno why anybody's doing this!

Euan Uzami

« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2014, 09:17:51 pm »
Pretty new Luxos for PAP - all went well with feed to USB -- but now back in UK and although lights and light control on stem thingy  are working - damned if the feed to the USB and the red charging light is.

I suspect a problem in the stem control units wiring - ( but i am no electrical wizard ) - anyone got any useful info - or is it back to seller ( who the heck was that) - saying --bust - please sort or replace

Assuming it's a genuine B&M one (no reason to think it's not - but check) then I would concur that the USB cable seems to be the weakest part of it.
Mine works fine but I have noticed the black outer sheathing is slightly coming away where it goes into the USB socket/switch thing, leaving the inner wires visible. Still housed, not bare metal wire, but even so.
As well as that it's far too long even with my fairly long headtube and I have to wrap it round the bracket a few times. I think if I was buying again I'd go for the luxos B, rather than the U, given that I don't actually use the USB function very much.