Author Topic: Lightweight cafe lock - 62 grammes  (Read 6178 times)

marcusjb

• Full of bon courage.
    • Occasional wittering
Lightweight cafe lock - 62 grammes
« on: March 31, 2016, 10:15:04 pm »
I know lightweight locks are controversial, but you either lug around a D lock or go with something that would not stand up to much serious bike thieving tools, but is enough to stop the opportunist from making off with bike.

I have been using an Abus cable lock for a few years now, it is fine, but does weigh 205g.

I looked around for something lighter and this is where I have ended up:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/On-Guard-Akita-8045-Looped-Cable-Black/dp/B00AW7P5NI?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00

http://www.amazon.co.uk/ABUS-145-20-Combination-Padlock/dp/B003JSHET0?ie=UTF8&psc=1&redirect=true&ref_=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00

The cable is 38g and the padlock is 24g - so, grand total of 62g

Cable is around 50 cm long and can be used in a variety of ways as both ends are looped. It will never do wheels and frame, but again, this is about something that can be used whilst the bike is sat outside the cafe where you are having tea etc.  It's good enough to lock frame to whatever you can find.

The padlock is really good, especially compared to a cheaper offering that I tried first that was terrible and just had the worst action. Clearly anyone with a bit of patience can pick a combination padlock, but again, it is fine for the purpose.  No key to lose etc. Available in lots of colours, but Orange is clearly the best.

So, anyone able to get less than 62 grammes?
Right! What's next?

Ooooh. That sounds like a daft idea.  I am in!

Re: Lightweight cafe lock - 62 grammes
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2016, 10:43:00 pm »
62g? Call that lightweight?

48g plastic covered cable and 3 digit combination lock form BBB.

No way would I even consider a lock weighing 62g!!!!

« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2016, 11:17:31 pm »