Author Topic: New Forest on and off shore 200  (Read 2434 times)

New Forest on and off shore 200
« on: 25 July, 2008, 12:15:26 pm »
Does anyone know how much climbing there is on this ride? Eldest daughter is interested in riding this one tandem, but it needs to be not too hilly for that.

Fidgetbuzz

• L sp MOON. 1st R sp MARS . At X SO sp STARS
Re: New Forest on and off shore 200
« Reply #1 on: 25 July, 2008, 01:37:06 pm »
I rode this last year -- good ride - ferry crossings are fun. New forest bit was flattish
I o W - I dont recall thinking that it was hilly - and certainly had the impression it could have been made hillier, if the organiser had wanted to.  The control on the east coast (cant remember where) had a great cafe - with a marvelous view over the sea.
Grub at the end was amazingly good.
I was an accountant until I discovered Audax !!

frere yacker

« Reply #2 on: 25 July, 2008, 01:52:49 pm »
It isn't a fearsome ride.  The Isle of White is lumpy, particularly the run out from the ferry up to the Needles.  The mainland is rolling rather than hilly.

There is a real sense of adventure on the route, it has some lovely and varied views all along the route.  The novelty of a chain ferry (as well as a proper floating ferry) is a real experience.

I might do it, as it is a great ride.  But I may still be recovering from the Raid Pyrenean.

« Reply #3 on: 25 July, 2008, 09:53:48 pm »
Does anyone know how much climbing there is on this ride? Eldest daughter is interested in riding this one tandem, but it needs to be not too hilly for that.