Author Topic: Sherman’s Neck  (Read 2645 times)

Sherman’s Neck
« on: 31 January, 2023, 06:46:36 pm »
On long audax rides I get Shermans Neck, usually somewhere between 800k and 1000k.  On long rides I carry a light neck brace which works ok but not perfect.  I have a new bike with a slightly more relaxed geometry, which hopefully will help. Does anyone know of any exercises that might help, is it core or more specific?  Thanks. Dai

Re: Sherman’s Neck
« Reply #1 on: 31 January, 2023, 07:07:41 pm »
Can't answer specifically about Shermer’s neck, but a combination of regular Pilates classes and a 7-minute plank routine 3 x a week has cured me of all my previous neck problems. My initial motivation was the inability to do shoulder checks on the bike due to immobility and just general pain and discomfort.

One Pilates teacher I've been using for many years focuses quite a lot on the neck and there are a few exercises he works in that are specific to neck muscle development and mobility.  It's a commonly neglected muscle group!

I can now happily spend extended periods of up to 1 hour continuously on the tri bars.
The sound of one pannier flapping

« Reply #2 on: 31 January, 2023, 07:40:22 pm »
Were it me I'd do two things. Firstly I'd check my saddle fore/aft position and angle to make sure I wasn't sliding my weight onto the bars. I'd ride in my normal position, then without changing anything see if I could float my hands off the bars without affecting riding balance. If you can't check saddle is level and investigate front of knee over pedal axle as a starting point for fore/aft position.

Then, I beast the fuck out of my core with pilates

« Reply #3 on: 05 February, 2023, 09:20:31 pm »
Planks for core strength. Lots of them.

Certainly check your position.

Also possibly raise your bars, wear the lightest headgear you can find, take breaks when you move to a less aggressive position every hour or so.

That's what I did and it didn't come back.