Author Topic: Probably very basic question regarding gears  (Read 1065 times)

Jon

Probably very basic question regarding gears
« on: 16 July, 2016, 10:17:02 pm »
I just spent the last 2 hours following a guide to get gears working smoothly.

The back ones are a dream - but the front ones were the opposite.

I've got '105' levers and I wondered how many clicks I should be expecting (to jump between my two front chainrings) - I assumed (coming from an mtb) that I would have 2 settings - a click between the 2. I actually had 4 settings (3 clicks)
And now seem to have 3 (2 clicks) following my tinkering.

Anyone have any ideas please?

Also I don't have a twisty adjuster on my front derailleur - is that normal?!

And - final question - on the H/L adjustment screws how do I know which is which - and which direction moves each one each way.

Any help would be appreciated!

Re: Probably very basic question regarding gears
« Reply #1 on: 16 July, 2016, 11:20:54 pm »
I'm no expert on 105, but here goes.

H/L adjusters - often, these are marked H and L of course. Presumably not in your case. I usually just peer inside the derailleur and hope to see which is against the stop. Or, put it in top or bottom. One screw will be hard to move - that's the one that does the end where the gear currently is, because it's against the stop, whereas the other is currently floating free. Or, in that position, try moving both screws and see which one causes the derailleur to move. Or if desperate Google the manual.

Yes, if I remember rightly, my Shimano shifters have more than two positions. Some ability to trim is needed, as the chain is in a different position when it runs to the inner versus the outer sprocket. Campag always had far more trim, which made tourists (with their wider gear ranges) often prefer it.

I've got adjusters where the cables leave the shifters. There's usually at least one in the system somewhere.