Author Topic: Choosing a union  (Read 2060 times)

Regulator

• That's Councillor Regulator to you...
Choosing a union
« on: 16 March, 2023, 09:33:04 am »
I'm looking to join a union again.  The TUC has a helpful 'Find a Union' tool, which has basically given me three option:

- Unison
- GMB
- Community

I've heard of Unison and the GMB - I've never heard of Community before.

Unison appears to be the closest match and is involved in the area I work in but, before I go for them, I was wondering if anyone had any experience of the other two unions?  Or of Unison, that I might want to know?
Quote from: clarion
I completely agree with Reg.

Green Party Councillor

Bluebottle

• Everybody's gotta be somewhere
Re: Choosing a union
« Reply #1 on: 16 March, 2023, 11:46:05 am »
I have no experience of any of these, but my questions outside of the general would be, 1) Who is most heavily represented in your workplace? 2) Does anyone else in your workplace have positive or negative experience with any of them?

Obviously, these are questions that might not be relevant to your circs...

The last one...I'm currently on strike. From what I saw, the union local reps were useless in a previous institution, but closer to home and the present day, very good.
Dieu, je vous soupçonne d'être un intellectuel de gauche.

FGG #5465

Regulator

« Reply #2 on: 16 March, 2023, 01:10:24 pm »
We don't have any recognised unions in our workplace (although I assume that many of the clinical staff with be in their relevant unions).

Green Party Councillor

« Reply #3 on: 16 March, 2023, 01:24:10 pm »
What are your reasons for joining a union? Fighting your corner in salary negotiations and giving you the option to strike, giving advice and support when issues arise at work, or something else?