Author Topic: vecnum travel stem.  (Read 961 times)

vecnum travel stem.
« on: 12 August, 2023, 06:14:13 pm »
Anyone have any first hand experience?
I'm resistant to susp forks, I like the ones I have for cargo options and the ride feel.
Im leery of any susp under the seat that puts your pedal stroke/knees out of whack.
This looks like it could really help with hand and shoulder fatigue on rough surface with no particular downside beyond cost, aesthetics and relocating a junction box.
Im super curios to hear of personal reports.
often lost.

Re: vecnum travel stem.
« Reply #1 on: 13 August, 2023, 10:25:53 pm »
I have Redshift suspension stems on 2 of my bikes. I'll be buying another when I get a bike fit to determine the optimum length for me on that particular, new, bike.
Apart from weight and cost, I really can't see a downside to them. The difference before/after is immense IME.
I've no experience of the Vecnum stem but I imagine that it will make a similar difference.
It looks like the Vecnum is more sophisticated than the Redshift because of its parallelogram arrangement but I'm not convinced (based on my Redshift experience) that it's worth the extra cost.

FWIW, I've tried one of my Redshift stems on my new Topstone Lefty because it was the only stem that I had that was about, what I imagined, would be the correct length. Since the bike has a (short travel) suspension fork I thought that the suspension in the stem would be either superfluous or OTT, I just wanted to get a feel for that length of stem. I rode the bike quite a bit with the fork locked out but, IMO, it's better with both the suspension stem and the active fork...............

« Reply #2 on: 15 August, 2023, 06:20:28 pm »
Thanks for the feedback. Interesting to hear that you found it worked well in conjunction with the short travel fork too. Did it feel like twice the benefit?
I think I will bite the bullet and pick up vencum. I like the idea that the bars move up and down on the vertical.