Author Topic: Wordpress v Adobe Contribute  (Read 633 times)

Wordpress v Adobe Contribute
« on: 05 October, 2012, 02:01:26 pm »
I have been having discussions with the Head of my kids' school to get the website more up to date.

The Head has used a design house in the past & they have done a decent job, if none too exciting. The problem is, the school had the website made & then didn't know what to do with it or how. They have contacted the designers who are proposing a solution based around Adobe Contribute.

Now, I'm no expert in the field, but I've had a look at the Adobe site and I suspect that it will be a) very expensive and b) taking a sledgehammer to crack a nut.

Would a site in Wordpress offer something (almost) as easy to update?
Haggerty F, Haggerty R, Tomkins, Noble, Carrick, Robson, Crapper, Dewhurst, Macintyre, Treadmore, Davitt.

CrinklyLion

• The one with devious, cake-pushing ways....
Re: Wordpress v Adobe Contribute
« Reply #1 on: 05 October, 2012, 02:10:32 pm »
6 years ago I had (I think) 5 schools with sites built with contribute, hosted with random hosting co.  Most have moved to using their VLE as the school website, apart from one where there's a TA who is handy with a mouse and listened when I showed her how to do stuff.  The one remaining site put together using Contribute is undoubtedly the best of the lot, my quite some margin.  But that's because it is updated without fail every single week, by someone who knows and cares what shade of blue and if there's an easy way to navigate around the site and what the swimming coach will leave and which is the right version of the newsletter and about apostrophes and everything.  And who gives the kids (and, I believe, the teachers) prizes if they give her web content to upload.

I reckon it doesn't matter what the technology is, all that much, tbh.  Whichever they can get their head round, or if it's going to get ignored completely and never updated, whichever is cheapest.