Author Topic: Wiring doorbells  (Read 12921 times)

Wowbagger

• Stout dipper
    • Stuff mostly about weather
Wiring doorbells
« on: 16 December, 2010, 11:40:12 am »
My ancient aunt Phyllis is blind and going increasingly deaf. She spends most of her time in the lounge with the radio on and has a doorbell affixed to the wall immediately above her chair. She has another, which runs off the same button, placed in the corridor so that she can hear it if she's in the kitchen.

Recently we replaced the doorbell above her chair because the old one seemed to have given up the ghost. When we wired the new one in, the corridor bell rang non-stop. Dez disconnected it in the hope that the new doorbell would be loud enough for her to hear it from the kitchen. It appears that it isn't.

She wants me to wire up her bell again so that both ring when the button is pressed. I have no idea how - my scant knowledge of physics and circuitry has been decaying ever since it was last added to in about 1967.

Any advice would be appreciated.
Quote from: Dez
It doesn’t matter where you start. Just start.

Re: Wiring doorbells
« Reply #1 on: 16 December, 2010, 11:45:58 am »
A 'mobile ringer' that she can carry with her.
"Yes please" said Squirrel "biscuits are our favourite things."

« Reply #2 on: 16 December, 2010, 11:58:30 am »
We have a cordless one, the batteries didn't need changing for nearly 2 years.

« Reply #3 on: 16 December, 2010, 01:20:18 pm »

She WILL forget to do that.
We are making a New World (Paul Nash, 1918)

tiermat

• According to Jane, I'm a Unisex SpaceAdmin
« Reply #4 on: 16 December, 2010, 01:30:14 pm »
I would forget about the old doorbell and go for one of the cordless systems, we have one that has a battery powered unit, for carrying around, and a plugin unit.

Even I, with my abysmal hearing, can hear it when it goes off!!
I feel like Captain Kirk, on a brand new planet every day, a little like King Kong on top of the Empire State

border-rider